Workers Compensation Laws in Tennessee

 In Workers' Compensation Law

It’s difficult to outrightly deny the possibility of an injury at the workplace. In short, work-related injuries or illnesses are part and parcel of the work-life in Tennessee. For this cause, workers’ compensation laws in Tennessee are in place to ensure that you are rightly reimbursed if you get an injury or illness in the line of completing your day-to-day work.

What Should You Know if You Sustain a Work-related Injury?

According to the workers’ compensation laws in most states, you have about 30 days to report a work injury to your employer, supervisor, or HR department. If you live in Bristol, TN, you should do so within 15 days of an injury or after your healthcare provider informs you that the sickness or injury is work-related. However, it’s always vital to do the reporting ASAP so that your workers’ comp claim can be handled within a realistic amount of time. For injuries requiring emergency care, the employee’s treatment takes precedence.

Additionally, you might be required to choose an authorized Treating Physician from a list of three doctors that your employer presents. After you select your physician, they will be the one handling your treatment needs when necessary.

What Benefits do Workers Compensation Laws Allow?

TN workers’ compensation insurance covers various expenses that you’re entitled to if your injury or illness is work-related. Some of them include:

  • Medical treatment: Everything sensible you require medically to treat your injury.
  • Mileage claim: If you travel more than 15 miles to arrive at the physician’s office, you can claim travel expenses.
  • Temporary partial disability: If your injury renders you unable to continue working for some days or weeks, you should get two-thirds of your average weekly wage calculated using the payment of the 52 weeks prior to the injury.
  • Permanent partial disability: This is where your injury restricts you from accomplishing certain work; you should be paid 2/3 of the average weekly wage.
  • Permanent total disability: If you’re totally rendered unable to complete your work, you qualify for 2/3 of your average weekly wage.

My Claim is Denied: What to Do

If the insurance company somewhat believes that your injury is not compensable, they may reject your workers’ benefits claim. But you can appeal to the bureau to get your issue resolved. This is where you need an attorney with experience in workers’ compensation laws in Tennessee to represent you.

At Slaughter Law Firm, P.C., we help workers get what they deserve. Whether you want to make your workers’ benefits claim solid or you’re challenging your denied claim, we’ll use our experience to help. Get in touch to learn more.