Filing Tennessee A Worker’s Compensation Claim
People who have been injured on the job face a lot of uncertainties in terms of how they are going to pay their bills, how long it is going to take to recover from their injury and how to deal with their employer. Most people have no idea as to how to deal with their employers under normal circumstances and they are really at a loss when they have to communicate with the company they work for when they file a Worker’s Compensation claim. Here at the Slaughter Law Firm, believe that workers who have been injured on the job need guidance and support to guide them through the process of filing a claim.
Peace of Mind
Employees who have a good relationship with their employer are often surprised to learn how the nature of their relationship with their boss or company changes after an on the job injury. Sometimes misunderstandings that cause rifts in relationships occur because employees attempt to communicate with their employers and their insurance companies on their own. Employees need to know that beyond having to worry about the welfare of their employee, employers often face investigations by regulatory agencies and the department of labor. These agencies may contact the employee directly, and the validity of their claim is determined by how employee responds to the questions asked by agency officials and the employers attorney. An attorney who has either successfully settled or tried worker’s compensation claims in Tennessee has experience communicating with employers, attorneys and regulatory agencies. They know how to format answers to questions and craft other communications to protect the integrity of their cases.
Meeting Worker’s Compensation Filing Deadlines
There are strict filing deadlines in place when an employee is injured on the job in Tennessee. The employee needs to notify their employer within 15 days of their injury. The sooner an employee notifies their employer of their injury the better. There is no law that says an employer has to be notified in writing, however written notification is always better than oral notification when employees pursue a worker’s compensation claim. The Employer’s First Report of Work Injury or illness form must be completed by the employer in one day according to state law. The employers insurance company is then allotted 15 days to either approve or deny a claim. It is extremely difficult for the average person to stay on top of all of the deadlines involved when a worker’s compensation claim has been submitted.
Putting Everything Together
Here at the Slaughter Law Firm, we believe when an employee is injured on the job, they should be compensated for their injuries. Our lawyers work with medical professionals like therapists, physicians and legal nurse consultants to review the information pertaining to your worker’s compensation claim. After thorough review, we then use our expertise to prepare the strongest case possible. We settle the majority of our worker’s compensation claims out of court, however we prepare every case as though we plan to take it to court. Contact our office today to see how we can help you.