Everything That You Need to Know About Tennessee Domestic Law
Everything That You Need to Know About Tennessee Domestic Law:
Domestic laws vary in every state, and that is also true of Tennessee as well. The domestic laws will affect anyone who is married or cohabitates with someone else as part of a relationship. Knowing Tennessee domestic law will help you take care of yourself if you ever find yourself in a situation where you are getting violated in your own home.
In this post, we will discuss what your rights are when you are in any sort of domestic relationship the following are your rights are under the Tennessee laws.
The Definition of Domestic Assault in Tennessee:
An assault occurs in the state of Tennessee when any of the following have occurred when you knowingly cause:
- bodily injury to another person
- causing another person to reasonably fear imminent threats of bodily injury
- physical contact with another person that is considered extremely offensive, unwanted, and unwelcome
Those who are the victims of assaults are protected by Tennessee Code, Title 39, Chapter 13, Part 1, Section 39-13-111, which promises punishment for domestic assault cases throughout Tennessee.
Domestic assault is when someone assaults another individual who was at some point or is currently considered one of the following:
- current or former spouse
- dating/sexual partner
- blood/adaptive relative
- a current/former relative by marriage
- adult or minor child from any individual on the list above
The Tennessee laws allow for abusers to get charged with crimes that involve domestic assault when it is done against any domestic partner or family member that is living with them.
Protection For Victims:
Tennessee offers protection for rape victims through their protection orders to keep the predators away from the victims in the future. It’s always recommended to have a protection order against that person to stop them from committing the same crime against you again. If you haven’t yet gotten a protection order and are the victim of a rape case, then we recommend that you contact the Tennessee Coalition to End Domestic & Sexual Violence.
Charges for Domestic Violence:
Those who commit acts of domestic violence can get charged with a Class A Misdemeanor (unless committed under subdivision 3) which can mean up to 11 months and 29 days or a maximum of a $2,500.00 fine. If it’s committed under subdivision 3 then it’s a Class B Misdemeanor which is no more than 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.
Second offenses are punishable by fines of $350 to $500 and 30 days to 11 months 29 days in jail. The third and subsequent offenses are punishable by a $1,100 to $5,000 fine and anywhere from 90 days to 11 months 29 days in jail.
Knowing Tennessee domestic law when it comes to domestic violence can help you understand your rights and keep yourself safe. For more information, or for help with domestic law, please contact us.